Balakot Strike Heroes Awarded On Air Force Day

Indian Air Force (IAF) on Thursday awarded gallantry medals to its three air warriors, who participated in the Balakot operation last year.
The awards were given on the occasion of 88th Air Force Day at Hindon airbase in Uttar Pradesh. The officers who received the Yudh Seva Medal are Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal, Group Captain Hansel Sequera and Group Captain Hemant Kumar Vadsra. Yudh Seva Medal recognises distinguished service of a high order during war, conflict or hostilities.

Also Read: 20 Mindblowing Pictures From Air Force Day 2020

Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal is a Fighter Controller and she was part of the team that guided Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman during the 2019 Balakot airstrike carried out by the IAF. To avenge the Pulwama terror attack in Jammu and Kashmir, India carried out an aerial strike at a terror training camps in Balakot in Pakistan on February 26 last year. On February 14, 40 soldiers of CRPF were killed in the terror attack claimed by Pakistan-based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *